Dock Street, Dundee

ref: wc0144

Dock Street, Dundee - Ref: WC0144

This photograph shows the south end of Dundee's Commercial Street at its junction with Dock Street, which runs westwards to the railway stations and eastwards in the direction of Broughty Ferry.

The impressive corner building (the business on the ground floor, The Armoury, has not been pinned down, but was perhaps P. M. Brown & Sons, listed in the Dundee Directory as merchants) housed the offices of various shipbrokers, and engineers.

The Dundee Gem Line Steam Ship Co., Ltd., managed by James Duncan, secretary D. J. Browne, was also based in the building. Their vessels, built in the late 1870s and early 1880s included the Emerald, Sapphire, Beryl, Diamond, Opal, Ruby and Garnet.


Alexander Wilson who took this photograph, was a supervisor in a Dundee jute mill for over 20 years. He bequeathed much of his collection and £50, to cover the costs involved, to the Free Library Committee of Dundee in 1923.